A Very Rainy Sunday Funday

Yesterday was an unusual Sunday because my boyfriend, Kyle, woke up quite sick. We took it easy in the morning and watched Star Wars. We have been making our way from the “beginning.” We started with Star Wars: The Phantom Menace. I haven’t watched the movies “in order” before so I have really been enjoying this. We recently finished all of the Indiana Jones series as well and I loved seeing that from the start!

After the movie Kyle went to nap and I decided to head over to Discovery Park to take a long walk. If you’ll notice the name of my blog is “Emerald City Runner” and you might be wondering – walking? Doesn’t she run? The answer to that is a most definite YES, I love to run! However, I am currently dealing with a chronic ankle problem and my doctor told me to take it easy until we can figure out what is wrong. I have been working out in the gym and cycling for a few weeks and I was dying to be outside today. I walked about 4 miles around Discovery Park in the pouring rain and it was glorious. I tried to focus on having a good time being outside rather than getting angry and jealous when other runners passed by. “This is just for now, not forever” I kept telling myself. This has been my favorite mantra lately. I CANNOT WAIT to get back to running, but in the meantime I can stay active and know that I am trying to fix my body to come back as a stronger runner, rather than wearing my ankle down day after day and being in pain. I would really like to still be able to walk when I’m 50 πŸ˜‰

After my walk I headed to the grocery store for ingredients for a recipe from the book Run Fast Eat Slow. I made the Flu Fighter Chicken and Rice Stew (I used quinoa rather than rice). It was smelling amazing! I also made a dairy free blueberry loaf for Kyle because baked goods always make me feel better and I thought it would make Kyle feel better, too. He loves any pastry that has blueberries so I think this will be perfect. It also smells fantastic! Everything was delicious!

I would really like to start blogging daily and am going to try my best to get into the habit. I have always been that person who wants to have a journal to look back on and read later and show my future kids, etc, etc, but I have never been able to stick to pen and paper. I figured – why not try a blog?! This is fun and I can add pictures. I doubt anyone will start reading except my boyfriend (although if my dog could read I am POSITIVE he would follow religiously).

I have a doctors appointment in a few days to have another steroid injection done in my ankle, but I am going to call my doctor tomorrow and ask if we can do a new scan he suggested before that (since I would then have to wait 4 weeks after the injection to have the scan). I am happy to have the injection if he thinks that is best, but I would like them to take another look (I have had two MRIs and countless x-rays) with this new scan and see if they can get a better idea of what is wrong. The Chicago Marathon is in October and it will also be my 30th birthday month (UGH) and I have my heart set on that race more than I can convey in words. I already had to stop training for a trail 50k because of my ankle. The 4 other steroid injections I’ve had have been band-aids and only cease the pain temporarily. Hopefully I can get the scan first. Then once I get the steroid injection I can start running again, but really only until the steroid wears off. Fingers and toes crossed over here the scan shows something obvious and that can be fixed. For now, here is a recent race photo! I placed third woman and PR’d in a 10k. This was a good day. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “A Very Rainy Sunday Funday

Leave a Reply

