Ankle Things & a Killer Spin Workout

“Endurance is one of the most difficult disciplines, but it is to the one who endures that the final victory comes.” -Buddha

This is one of my most favorite quotes and I wholeheartedly agree with it. I went to see my doctor today for my THIRD steroid injection in the series (although I have had about 5 total in the history of my ankle). I asked him if he thought it would be good to do one of the new scans first and then do the third injection, but he said no, he needs to keep it on schedule and document what happens. Doctor things. They need it all on paper. I said OK (as I am desperate for anything to fix this ankle problem at this point) and got the injection. A concoction of three different steroids (and 3ml in volume!!) was injected. The most liquid that has ever gone in, and it wasn’t exactly comfortable. It is sore and will stay that way for a little while. Now we wait and see what happens! Although really, I know whats going to happen. πŸ˜‰ On a happy note – I can run in TWO WEEKS! I am really excited about that. I have a recheck in 5 weeks and we will see how it’s doing and go from there.

After my doctor appointment I went straight to the gym for some spin therapy. I really enjoy spinning and although it’s not the same as running it does release a lot of needed endorphins and helps me to get out any stress, anxiety or frustration. Kind of like running, but not running. I did this killer spin workout by The Hungry Runner Girl and I loved it!

hrg-spin-workout

After spin I did five minutes of plank work. Gotta keep that core strong for my running comeback! Don’t mind my chipped nail polish. I am happy to go run 15 miles in a freezing cold torrential downpour, but painting my nails and/or removing the polish is so difficult. πŸ˜‰

ash-planks-1

I am feeling good about my ankle today and am just trying to stay positive. A brief back story of it is that it has been a chronic problem for TEN YEARS, but has only gotten worse and worse since last July. In the meantime I can stay strong, mentally AND physically, and just prepare for my epic comeback. Again. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

