#TBT: That time I went on a cruise with my Mom and two Aunts.

“If there ever comes a day when we can’t be together, keep me in your heart. I’ll stay there forever.” ~Winnie the Pooh

My aunt recently sent me a bunch of photos from a cruise we took back in September. We left from right here in Seattle and cruised down to Astoria, OR, San Francisco, CA, then up to Victoria BC and back home. The trip was a little bittersweet, but fun. The reason I say it was bittersweet is because the trip was to make memories with my mother. She was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s disease the summer of 2015. She is 63 years old. To say watching my mother’s health decline is sad is most certainly an understatement. It is heart wrenching and crushing. She also has vision problems (she can’t really see out of one eye) which makes things even more of a struggle for her.

FullSizeRender

At Bubba Gump Fish Co in San Fran. It was 80 degrees!!

IMG_4487

At a fun brewery in Astoria, Oregon.

IMG_4494 (2)

One of the “fancy dinner” evenings in the dining room on the ship.

IMG_4499

Fresh off the boat in San Fran. The 80 degree weather was amazing!

IMG_4618

At Ghiradelli Square in San Fran.

San Francisco was my favorite! We got to spend two days there. The second day we were there I woke up early and ran 7 miles through the city. It was glorious.

san fran

My featured image on this post is the tattoo I got for my mom. An elephant holding a purple heart. Purple is the color for Alzheimer’s, and elephants never forget.

 

Leave a Reply

